Police and Crime Panel (PCP)

The Commissioner’s work is assessed, supported and challenged by the Police and Crime Panel (PCP). This is to make sure that the public has the information they need to consider or challenge decisions. In this way, the PCC can be held to account.

Panel members focus their attention on important strategic actions and decisions made by the PCC, including whether they have:

  • achieved the aims in the Police and Crime Plan and Annual Report
  • considered the priorities of community safety partners
  • consulted appropriately with the public and victims of crime.

Membership is balanced according to the geographical and political make-up of the County, with similar consideration given to the Panel members’ skills, knowledge and experience. It is hosted, managed and administered by Derbyshire County Council for complete independence.

Members are required to:

  • consider the Commissioner’s proposed council tax precept for policing, with power to veto this if they consider the level is not appropriate
  • consider the Commissioner’s proposed appointment of a Chief Constable, with the power to veto if they consider necessary
  • review the Commissioner’s Police and Crime Plan and the Annual Report
  • consider any non-criminal complaints against the PCC
  • the Panel can also request reports and call the Commissioner to attend its meetings 

Who is on the panel

Derbyshire’s Police and Crime Panel is made up of 10 councillors – one from each of the 10 local authorities in the police force area – and 2 independent members:

  • Mrs Vicky Newbury – Independent Member (Chair)
  • Councillor Clive Moesby – Bolsover District Council  – (Vice Chair)
  • Councillor Ged Potter – Derby City Council
  • Councillor Carol Hart – Derbyshire County Council
  • Councillor Matthew Allwood – Amber Valley Borough Council
  • Councillor Jonathan Davies – Chesterfield Borough Council
  • Councillor Steve Wain – Derbyshire Dales District Council
  • Councillor Joel Bryan – Erewash Borough Council
  • Councillor Godfrey Claff – High Peak Borough Council
  • Councillor Kevin Gillott – North East Derbyshire District Council
  • Councillor Gordon Rhind – South Derbyshire District Council
  • Dr Stephen Handsley – Independent member
PLEASE NOTE: With the exception of legally required data and historic financial records, the majority of the information on the Derbyshire OPCC website covers information, news and events for the current Commissioner only. For access to news articles and information covering the previous Commissioners please contact the OPCC team.
Skip to content